PA vs NP- need your advice!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Boston PreMed

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am currently a Senior in undergrad., graduating this Spring. I am in a position where I can either go to PA school or NP school. I understand that these are two different professions, that undergo very different training. However, they are both midlevels and have similar salaries. Grades/GRE scores are not an issue. I could get into whichever I choose.

Heres the thing:
1. I could go to PA school and be done in around 24 months for about 70k+plus in student loans. This route is shorter and I would have much more employment opportunities (switching specialties easier than an NP).

or

2. I could go to a Direct Entry NP program which would take 3 full years, for about 60k (in state). Becoming an RN in the first year, and then an NP in the last two. And, become an Independent Practitioner in the end. (however, may have to continue school if the DNP becomes the standard)

(I am paying for graduate school myself, which is why I am taking tuition costs into account so much.)

I know that many people are going to reply saying "well it depends on what you want to go into..." blah blah blah. "Nursing and PA are very different." yes I know this. I'm still unsure as to which specialty I like most. I have shadowed Primary Care NP, Critical Care NP, Neuro PA, and Ortho PA and I enjoyed all of them.

Also, please don't turn this into an NP vs. PA battle. I just want your opinions about my situation.

Thanks for any advice you have. :D

Boston PreMed

Members don't see this ad.

do you have any prior health care experience?
quality pa programs require this...
if not np would actually be the faster route.

Hi Everyone,