PA school- is my GPA too low ?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gke9323

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I recently obtained my undergraduate degree in Exercise Science with a concentration in Exercise Physiology. My goal is to apply to PA programs when CASPA opens in April 2017. My main problem is that I'm worried my GPA will be too low. I graduated with an Overall GPA of 2.876 and my Science GPA is 2.79. On the other hand, I have had around 400 hours of hands on patient care and 40 hours with a PA, and since I'm planning to apply in the spring, these numbers will increase by then. I also have 3 great letters of recommendation set up, and my GRE scores were Verbal: 151, Quantitative: 146, and Analytical Writing: 4.0.

I'm currently taking a 500 level biochemistry, and plan on re-taking a general bio and gen chemistry that I received C's in. Do you think that this will be enough to boost my GPA and give me chance at any of the schools for the April 2017 - March 2018 CASPA application process? Is there anything else I could be doing? Open to any guidance or suggestions!I know 3.0 is usually the minimum, so just wondering if you think I can make it to that/ make my application competitive!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: