This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

uga.mkg

Reaction score
Hello!

I want to go to medical school, I'm not sure for what specialty or area yet, but this has been my goal for years. I am currently in my fourth year of undergrad. I wanted to go straight to medical school, but being a first generation college student and coming from a very low income family, I have had to work full time while also being a full time student. I go to UGA, so the "weed out" classes in the sciences here pretty rigorous. That being said, my GPA is only a 2.7 right now, and my science GPA is a little lower. I know that is not competitive for med school, so I am trying to figure out which route I should take. My advisors have said to take a post-bacc curriculum for pre med or in a hard science. If I can get into a MS program with an assistantship option, I would not mind doing that at all, but I can't do an unpaid MS program because there would be no improvement in my work/school relationship and I would be going more in debt to go to med school for years with little to no pay.

Another option I have just come across would be trying to go to PA school. While my GPA is not great, I have been involved in a few clubs on campus, I am a certified medical assistant, I have 1500+ paid patient care hours, and I also have shadowing experience. Going to PA school would allow me to start making a better salary sooner, maybe give me time to start a family, etc, but I have not seen many good things about going from PA to MD/DO.