PA or MD/DO

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AspiringDoctor2018

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello SDN community,

I am at a crossroad - I have been stuck here for a while.

I have always had the goal of pursuing a career in medicine as a physician. Unfortunately, I don't have the best stats (i.e. MCAT: 501, BCPM 2.93, CGPA: 3.06). I graduated from college in December 2014. I didn't apply right away because my first MCAT was a 490. I retook the MCAT in August 2016 and got the 501. I applied in September 2016 to DO schools and did not get accepted. No surprise there. In the time that I have been out of school, I have continued to work as a medical scribe, scribe trainer, and I work for scribe corporate office now. I also manage a small family business. I've worked since I was in high school. I am applying as a disadvantaged student de to financial struggles. With my stats, would it be better to go into the PA route or return to school to take 12-15 science credits and retake the MCAT? I want to start working, gain more stability, and treat patients. Does anyone have any advice? In addition, will everyone share their experiences as a PA and MD/DO. The ups and downs. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

At this point your stats wouldn’t even have you in the running for PA school. You need to take a deep look at how much time you are willing to put into this. If you are truly passionate about this (and have time and money) you will really need to do a post-bacc and truly crush the MCAT. Frankly, there are too many qualified applicants out there for your stats to stand out enough. I am not trying be mean but rather trying to give you a much needed dose of reality.