P4 Internship/Rotation Year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrPharm

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
How are all the P4s doing on their rotations? Which ones are you on? Share with us your experiences and concerns!

Members don't see this ad.

Man, where are all the P4s? Am I the only one?

I've had some pretty interesting rotations, and currently I'm doing an ER rotation at a large teaching hospital. I have to do lots of readings and projects, but so far rotations has treated me well. I'm learning more every day.

Wish I could hear from some other P4s...

I'm now in my 3rd year of a 3 year program, so I'm doing my rotations as well. I just finished a pediatrics rotation at a local medical center. It was a great experience, mostly working in the NICU, rounding with the medical team, providing drug info with my preceptor, learning to write neonatal TPNs, etc. I also had a 15-20 minute presentation on the role of vitamin A in bronchopulmonary dysplasia, and a journal club. Right now, I'm just doing the usual "institutional pharmacy" rotation, learning the basics of hospital inpatient pharmacy...the distributive functions. Theoretically, this should've come before I started these other rotations, but they couldn't get enough "spots" for students to do it all at the same time (there are only 3 big hospitals here in LV)...so they decided to let students do this rotation amidst all the other rotations.

Members don't see this ad :)
in our curriculum you have to do a research project during your 4th year. Its a huge thing and lasts all year long.

Do you all have anything like that?

We don't have a capstone project in our curriculum.

We don't have one either, although I have to do a project for each of my rotations.