Overnight monitoring of continuous video EEG

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SenescentNeuron

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a neurology resident at a very large academic program. I wanted to ask how other similarly large academic programs monitor continuous EEG overnight - especially for patients on non-neurological services.

At our institution, we do not have an epilepsy attending, epilepsy fellow, or EEG tech who monitors or reads the continuous EEGs overnight. We do have an on-call epilepsy fellow or attending that is available overnight. However, they will not look at any EEGs overnight; instead, they are only available to approve or deny requests for continuous EEG.

Our overnight consult resident will try to monitor the EEGs for patients on non-neurological services (there are usually 2 - 4 at any given time). However, they often miss seizures due to lack of time, experience, and/or training. They also often over-treat electrographic patterns that do not represent seizures.

We are told that continuous EEG refers to continuous recording rather than continuous monitoring. Is this how most epilepsy departments at large academic institutions approach this?

Thank you for your time. I appreciate any insight or commentary you have on this topic.

Members don't see this ad.

We were responsible for overnight cEEGs as residents (usually 3 to 5 at any given time that we were actively monitoring). I remember lots of ICU patients in non-convulsive status. There was always a fellow you could page with questions.

Good training that I'll never use again as an outpatient, non EEG reading neurologist.

We were responsible for overnight cEEGs as residents (usually 3 to 5 at any given time that we were actively monitoring). I remember lots of ICU patients in non-convulsive status. There was always a fellow you could page with questions.