This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sawyer95

2+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I am planning to apply to a few OTD programs this fall (Belmont, Washington University (STL), and Huntington). I have so many questions.

1. RESEARCH VS. VOLUNTEER/ EXTRA CURRICULAR: I am currently in an psychology undergrad with a minor in wellness. I have done a fair amount of volunteer work (with kids and older adults, etc.). However, my background is mostly in research.

How much should I emphasize my research experience in my personal statement? I am extremely passionate about research and teaching and hope to transition to academia eventually, but I understand that "hands-on" experience is also critical in a well-rounded applicant (and clinician :) ). Most of my research has been pretty related to the OT field (infant visual perception, exercise interventions for older adults, disability experience research, etc.), I am just not sure how much comparable weight those experiences hold.

2. RESEARCH EXPERIENCE: Also, has anyone else done a plethora of research prior to OTD school entry and found that to be (more or less) helpful in their program?

3. STATISTICS BACKGROUND: What kind of statistical software is typically used? I have SPSS competency (with syntax), but I have little experience in any other coding language and no experience in modeling or using data mining software. Should I familiarize myself with another program? Ought software skills be mentioned in the personal statement?

4. FACULTY MENTOR: How much of a role does the faculty play as a mentor? I know in traditional Ph.D programs prospective students are encouraged to contact faculty with aligned research interests to see if they are "taking students" this year. OT is challenging because there seems to be little access to faculty CVs or publications. Should I preemptively contact faculty?

Thanks to whoever read all that. Ha!