General Admissions & OTCAS OT Salary Thread

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

occupationalguy

2+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all..

I figured I would start a salary thread. I am a level 2 OT student preparing to enter the field (hopefully).

I have been playing around with BLS statistics for salaries and I have drawn up these graphs of the highest salary locations for OTs and for the "major markets" that BLS selected. I wish I could find a way to weight the data for cost of living factored in. I have organized the locations by most reliable stats according to BLS to least. That means the cities/locations furthest to the left are most accurate with regards to the figures and those to the right are less accurate. I believe it is fair to expect that you will enter the market at the 17-25% percentile of what clinicians make. You won't be making the OT median salary at the start for your location, that will likely be your midcareer salary, or maybe further. I think very few clinicians will ever reach the 90% percentile so I did not even include those stats.

Note: An average 2 bedroom apartment in San Francisco is nearly $5000 a month. Or in other words nearly your entire starting OT salary, without even paying for your loans, food, and transit. Won't be moving there ;)
Anyone who wants me to crunch data for their specific location please let me know I will gladly do it!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 users
I have to wonder if most of the highest paid areas are due to more SNFs there... After all, Florida is basically the retire home state. ;) Or perhaps there are more for-profit institutions in these areas?