Order of Registering for Classes in college

mathlegend

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
In college, do everyone register at the same time, or do people register by their standing (freshman, sophomore, junior, senior)?

Members don't see this ad.

Most schools do it by how many units you have (thus what year you are). So like people with 1-30 units register on this day, 31-50 on this day, etc.

Thanks. So probably whoever has the most units registers first?

And what about incoming freshman for college? Say I'm going to college this fall, but I have enough credits so I'm at a junior standing. Would I still register will the freshman, or have an early registering date as a junior?

Members don't see this ad :)
It depends on the school, some schools don't count AP credits for registration purposes, but often classes are reserved for incoming freshmen. I'd ask, or you'll probably get your registration info soon enough! =D

Heh I'm only a sophomore right now :p I think I'll have 62 credits (junior standing) from CC when I enter college!

I don't know if they do it by credit-hours or standing, because the idea behind giving older students first choice is that they need to get into classes to finish their degree that younger students may also be able to take.

We did it by seniority. Seniors got to register first, then juniors, and on down. My senior year, they staggered the registration time within grades by alphabetical groups to reduce server strain.

I registered for the fall last week:

Bio-1 (with lab)
Chem-1 (with lab)
Physics-2 (with lab)
Calc-2 (with lab and supplemental instruction)
Judo (1 credit elective)

I never took AP Bio or AP Chem because I opted to graduate early. I think the above schedule will keep my busy though. lol :thumbup:

We did it by seniority. Seniors got to register first, then juniors, and on down. My senior year, they staggered the registration time within grades by alphabetical groups to reduce server strain.