Optometry Questions.

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ward

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am just a college freshman who is interested in optometry.

I have a few questions.

1. In my college booklet it says I can be admitted to my states optometry school with just two years of undergrade. Is that possible?

2. I am interested in occular disease. After doing an occular disease residency will there be many job offers for that and if so what type of salary could a person expect?

3. In Oklahoma what type of interventional procedures will I be allowed to do?

Thank you for any replies.

Roy

Members don't see this ad.

Hi Roy:

1. You may be admitted to an optometry school that does not require a bachelor's degree if you finish their prerequisites (it could take 2 or 3 years, it is really up to you).

I'm assuming that your home state is Oklahoma (because of your 3rd question), and Northeastern State University will accept an applicant without a bachelor's degree. A bachelor's degree is always recommended.

NSU College of Optometry requires a minimum of 90 semester hours and completion of specific pre-optometric courses found here - http://arapaho.nsuok.edu/~optometry/admission.html

If your home state isn't Oklahoma, you can check which optometry schools require a bachelor's degree at - http://www.opted.org/info_profile2.cfm

A link to each school's website is provided underneath their names and you can research the specific requirements for each school.

I don't have an answer for question #2 or #3.

Good luck.

Best wishes,

Rosanna

I did check out the requirements for nsu and they said that if I was admitted with 60 hours they would use the first two years of Opt school like they were part of undergrad and grant me a BS in basic vision sciences.

Members don't see this ad :)
One question: