Optometry Contracts

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Optomgem23

Reaction score
Hello! I am in my last year of optometry school and have received some job offers from retail settings. I'll admit, the salary is very attractive but this is (hopefully) not something long-term. It's a quick way for me to pay off my loans and then move into private practices or OD/MD groups.

I am not too familiar with contracts and was hoping I could get some tips for things to look out for or to ask. For example, reasonable non-competes are one thing I look for. They'll definitely be overworking me, and I don't mind the hours, but I was wondering what are some additional things I can ask for. As a young and new OD, I do not know what issues I should be looking out for so I definitely do not want to be taken advantage of. Any insight would be helpful!

So far they have offered an above-average daily rate, working 40 hours per week (including weekends), and 10 PTO days. Nothing with CE (is this negotiable and if so - what should I ask for?)

Members don't see this ad.

Hello! I am in my last year of optometry school and have received some job offers from retail settings. I'll admit, the salary is very attractive but this is (hopefully) not something long-term. It's a quick way for me to pay off my loans and then move into private practices or OD/MD groups.

I am not too familiar with contracts and was hoping I could get some tips for things to look out for or to ask. For example, reasonable non-competes are one thing I look for. They'll definitely be overworking me, and I don't mind the hours, but I was wondering what are some additional things I can ask for. As a young and new OD, I do not know what issues I should be looking out for so I definitely do not want to be taken advantage of. Any insight would be helpful!