Optometrist vs. Ophthalmologist Lifestyle

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

undecisiveone1

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all! I've read many threads similar to this and they all seem to be focused on whether or not optometrists have the right to practice surgeries. I have no interest in surgery whatsoever so that is out of the question for me.

My main concern is what is the lifestyle of each respective profession like? I am a pre-optometry student who values family life. How busy are optometrists compared to ophthalmologists (i.e. work hours)? Would I be able to have a family by my late 20s early/30s and be there for my future children? How often would I expected to be "on-call"? Aside from ophthalmologists having more schooling, performing major surgeries, having a higher income, are there any other distinctions between the two professions?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

If you are worried about the lifestyle of an Ophthalmologist you really shouldn't go to med school.

Reactions: 1 users
I'm still in the optometry forum right? I'm sorry if I portrayed it that way. I'm concerned about the lifestyle of an optometrist regarding work hours, being on call, etc. I was using ophthalmologist as a comparison

Members don't see this ad :)
If you are worried about the lifestyle of an Ophthalmologist you really shouldn't go to med school.

Qwerty, nice to see you back. Did you end up switching career paths?

-Edit: sorry, someone with a very similar username used to rant about how he was too good to be in optometry school. This was way back in 2011-2012, so my apologies-

For the OP, it's probably a good time to shadow/research a little bit more about the profession.