Optomcas application and the effects of COVID on shadowing

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mshang0331

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a junior double majoring in Biology and Psychology-Neuroscience track. I recently made the to decision to apply for optometry school instead of medical school after a brief hour of shadowing with my personal optometrist during my family's appointment. I never showed excitement towards any specialties beyond medical school and this was the first time I've felt excited for a profession. That being said, I am currently studying for the OATs, which I plan to take around March/April and maybe again around June/July if my first scores don't come out too well. My biggest concern right now is about the lack of shadowing experiences I have with different ODs because many of them are not allowing students for safety reasons. For anyone who's application has been affected by COVID or applied during COVID, what did the different schools change about their expectations for applicants (in regards to experience) and how did you go about explaining your situations during the interviews?

I have been reaching out to current optometry students from the schools that I plan on applying to and reaching out to optometrists/ophthalmologists around my town for informational interviews to understand more about their process, advices, the career in general, and campus life. I'm also active on Pre-Health Shadowing, which is an non-profit organization that offers virtual shadowing with doctors for all different fields. Once the holidays are over, I plan on shadowing my own optometrist (1-2x every week) for a couple of months just so I can have some sort of hands-on experience. Do you think these will be enough for my application considering the circumstances? I'm free to listen to various opinions and advices. Please share.

Members don't see this ad.