Options with my GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

23dancesmile

2+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ahh first post so kind've nervous.
I graduated from an ivy league with a 2.44 GPA. I have the time to get a fantastic score on the MCAT...my study skills have improved a lot (for ex. I took some undergrad bio classes at a state uni and got Cell Bio:A, Neurobio: A, Biochem LAb:A-, NeurobioLab: B). I'm confident I can study hard and do really well on the MCAT.
I feel like what's really holding me back in the app process is my GPA which I got when I was sick and distracted during college.
I'm part of the non-matriculating graduate student program at a state university, so I can take any undergrad or masters classes I want.
So say all the volunteering, extra curricular stuff is taken care of.
Do you know if I have to erase this GPA of 2.44 by doing a post bacc program??
...or can I
1. take several undergrad premed classes in the next few semesters (not as part of a post-bacc program), do well in them, and show the grades for them (although they won't contribute to my old GPA)...and that would make a difference to the medical school's decision?

2. take Masters of Biochem and Cell Bio classes where I'm enrolled, transfer into the Masters program, get a good GPA....Will this GPA if over a 3.5 change the medical school's decision about my old GPA?

3. just get a really high MCAT score that proves I know the premed material better?

Anyone have any other ideas as well? I really appreciate you taking the time to read this. Please let me know what you think! :)

Members don't see this ad.