Opt experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

surgical_tomato

still soul searching...
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'll be applying for opt school next year so I still have lots of time to prepare.
I have no experience shadowing / volunteering / working for an optometrist, and I’m wondering how much experience is recommended in an application.

I have 2 plans: (i) to volunteer once a week for 4 months OR (ii) to volunteer everyday for one week in an optometrist’s office. I want exposure to everything, but an optometrist's office and an optician's office are the only ideas I can think of.

What types of experiences have the rest of you applied with? (position + duration)

Thanks for your feedback!

Members don't see this ad.

I was the head receptionist and technician at a private practice for a full-year while taking pre-reqs at night.

probably overkill, but I wanted to make sure I knew exactly what I was getting in to! (since working full time in it was how I decided against pharmacy)

cpw said:
I was the head receptionist and technician at a private practice for a full-year while taking pre-reqs at night.

probably overkill, but I wanted to make sure I knew exactly what I was getting in to! (since working full time in it was how I decided against pharmacy)
How were you able to get jobs like that? Here, as far as I know, we can't really work in a pharmacy without being a pharmacist or a pharmacy technician or something.

Members don't see this ad :)
Edit to say: apparently I don't know how to read.

Chuffsla said:
How were you able to get jobs like that? Here, as far as I know, we can't really work in a pharmacy without being a pharmacist or a pharmacy technician or something.

I was a pharmacy technician for three years during high school and undergrad ;) And, all I had to do was apply and take the test :)