opt. experience vs. extracurricular act.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jc812

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all, I'm new here.. please read and let me know what you think!

I currently work at an opt. office and am in my second year of college (GSU).I've finally decided to put my all into becoming an OD. As far as prereq's go.. I'm set bc my major is bio.

I've read on a couple of opt. school sites that these extracurricular or opt. experience is something that will make you stand out as an applicant, esp. since I come from a regular university. I still have 2-3 years ahead of me before I grad. (with a current gpa of 3.37) and would like to know if anyone has any advice for me... or if anyone would have done anything differently before getting into opt. school. Should I get as involved as I think I should or focus more on my studies?

Also, are there any ratings as far as optometry schools go? I read somewhere else on this site that nova isn't great as far as their curriculum.. I'd like to hear more about other schools! I have a considerable amount of time ahead of me and would like to prepare as much as I can! Thanks! :oops:

Members don't see this ad.

jc812 said:
I currently work at an opt. office and am in my second year of college (GSU).I've finally decided to put my all into becoming an OD. As far as prereq's go.. I'm set bc my major is bio.

What made you want to do OD?
Should I get as involved as I think I should or focus more on my studies?
Read some of the earlier posts about experience. Working an opt office already gives you an advantage, but you might want to expand that by working private/commerical offices. Also, be involved in your school clubs like student gov't, honor societies, boys and girls club..etc.