Opportunities to practice medicine in the Philippines?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pinky

and the Brain
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a US med school grad and currently an anesthesiology resident. I was wondering what I would have to do to spend a couple of months per year practicing medicine in the Philippines, especially in the impoverished areas. Do I need to apply for a temporary license, take tests? I have an american medical license - just got my Illinois medical license after passing step 3.

I am American by birth but Pilipino by ethnicity. When I was in college, late 1990s, I accompanied my parents on week-long medical mission in Vigan. But am looking for something of a longer duration.

I was also wondering about permanent positions in the Philippines. I will graduate as an anesthesiologist and was wondering what the salaries are like in Manila? Would I even be allowed to take the tests for a Philippine medical license if I wasn't a Pilipino citizen? Am reallly curious about working for several months in the Philippines and doing locum tenens work in the states.

thanks

Members don't see this ad.

i think that it is wonderful that you would like to do that. i am a Fil-am who went to medical school in the Philippines. And i can tell you that you will definitely learn alot if you can practice there as well. I did clinical rotations both in the US and in Manila, and i can tell you it is a big difference.