This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

How are my chances to get at least 10 IM interviews if I'm applying to 250-300 programs?

• Very strong

Votes: 3 13.6%
  • Strong

Votes: 4 18.2%
  • Meh

Votes: 7 31.8%
  • Weak

Votes: 5 22.7%
  • Very weak

Votes: 3 13.6%

• Total voters

EzioAuditore88

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everybody,

I am a US citizen that graduated from one of the big four Caribbean medical schools (AUA). I initially started at SGU (another big four Carib school) and transferred over during 2nd year after withdrawing due to poor academic performance. I passed all my board exams on the first attempt - my Step 1 score is 221 and Step 2 CK score is 245. I graduated magna cum laude from AUA recently.

Last year, I applied to 168 IM programs (good mix of academic and community programs) and only ended up getting 4 interviews to rank. I did not have one of my LoRs in and my CS score was received in mid-October. I felt that I had good/great interactions with most (if not all) my interviewers during the season. I did not match last year and, as expected, I was pretty devastated.

I recently started working in a clinical research position at a large ER (with tons of exposure to patients), got ECFMG certified, and am preparing to take Step 3. I was planning on applying to about 250-300 IM programs (and maybe ~100 FM programs). This time, I have all my relevant board exam scores ready (except for Step 3, unfortunately) and all my supporting documents ready to go (including a new LoR).

What do you think my chances of getting more than 10 interviews this season? Do you think I should shift my program selection to favor more FM? I would love to hear your feedback, thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey everybody,