BOTH Opinions needed on implementing study plan

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

yanks26dmb

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm starting M2 in a couple of weeks. Here's where I am currently at...

-Took entire summer off to re-charge (still feeling guilty about this)
-Top 20% of class but feel as though I remember nothing

So basically, I'm a good student who did well first year, but still feel I retain nothing..hopefully when I study this won't come back to bite me. My question is, should I start some sort of COMLEX/USMLE plan day 1 of second year? Should I wait? I really have no idea what to do as I've read so many different opinions. Hoping to get some focused advice given my current situation. Thanks a ton.

Members don't see this ad.

Good for you for taking the summer off! Smart choice.

I think it's good to go through the sections of USMLE review as you study the concepts in your classes. I don't see any benefit in reading ahead. So for example if you're doing GI pathology, study a few of the GI questions in the review book. Just read them to familiarize yourself with what's important or comes up a lot. That way you'll get less bogged down in the minutiae.

I'm starting M2 in a couple of weeks. Here's where I am currently at...

-Took entire summer off to re-charge (still feeling guilty about this)
-Top 20% of class but feel as though I remember nothing

So basically, I'm a good student who did well first year, but still feel I retain nothing..hopefully when I study this won't come back to bite me. My question is, should I start some sort of COMLEX/USMLE plan day 1 of second year? Should I wait? I really have no idea what to do as I've read so many different opinions. Hoping to get some focused advice given my current situation. Thanks a ton.

Focus on classes. Are you guys systems based or traditional curriculum?