One semester of general chemistry?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CavsFan2016

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I have seen that most schools require 2 semesters of general chemistry. However, at my school, they have transitioned to teaching only one comprehensive semester of general chemistry. I am a recent graduate looking to apply this cycle, and I am concerned about what medical schools are going to say about this.

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone,

I have seen that most schools require 2 semesters of general chemistry. However, at my school, they have transitioned to teaching only one comprehensive semester of general chemistry. I am a recent graduate looking to apply this cycle, and I am concerned about what medical schools are going to say about this.

Thank you!
Usually it says a certain number of hours

You will be SOL at many schools. I had a similar issue having taken my school's accelerated general chemistry and having skipped physics 1 for three separate engineering courses. Fortunately I had AP chemistry to count for another semester of chemistry. The physics stopped me from completing quite a few secondaries, however, even with a 15 on physical sciences.

These fixed requirements are ass backwards, especially when you can demonstrate your understanding with a strong MCAT. That is why schools are moving towards competency requirements.

Sent from my SM-G925V using SDN mobile

Members don't see this ad :)
To be safe, take an upper level inorganic chemistry course if you only have one semester of general chemistry. It may be that by the time you apply, most schools will have already transitioned to competency-based admissions - many are in the process now.

Unfortunately, I have already graduated and am getting ready to submit my application. Would biochemistry be able to count for my other semester?

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile