One more day to decide: 6/30 vs. 7/21 test date?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

texmex11

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I took the MCAT in 2013 and received a score of 35. Unfortunately, it's expired at most schools I'm applying to. I just graduated from an MPH program, so now I'm studying to take the MCAT again this summer. Looking for some advice on my situation:

--I've already submitted my TMDSAS and AMCAS applications to schools that accept my old score.
--My MCAT is scheduled for June 30th with an August 1st score release date.
--Yesterday, I took my first practice test untimed (AAMC Practice Test 1) and scored a 507.
--With studying, I'm hoping to increase my score to at least 510 by June 30th.

Should I delay until July 21st with an August 22 score release date to aim for a higher score? Or will this later date for my complete application severely hurt my chances of getting an interview?

Any advice is helpful!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
OP - your 35 strongly suggests you're an excellent testtakers and very smart. The 507 is simply an anomaly because its a very different exam. If you study all the high yield MCAT topics (ex. Amino acid names, abbreviations (3 and 1 letter), and structures), you can pull it up by June 30. Are you confident you can do that?

I'd suggest you take the July 21 exam. You'll beast it and you won't be late by any means with an Aug 22 test score release. aim to submit your AMCASA as soon as possible and have your committee letter and additional letters of recommendation all uploaded by then. If you can be complete by the end of August, you'll be set.