Onboarding Curriculum For APCs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LostDesire1989

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
I’m currently in my third year of practice in an Interventional pain group. We are looking to hire more APCs to our group. I was wondering if anyone out there has any recommendations of resources that we could use that would be a standardized way of teaching/training APCs new to interventional pain. Their responsibility will be entirely clinic (Assessing pts for injections, fuv, and med mgmt).

Members don't see this ad.

I've defended midlevels repeatedly.

Losing my patience TBH.

It's a CLEAR difference in education.

I've worked with 4, and if you're ethical and GAF about efficiency, accuracy and "doing it right," you will spend a decent amount of time fixing what they break.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I've defended midlevels repeatedly.

Losing my patience TBH.

It's a CLEAR difference in education.

I've worked with 4, and if you're ethical and GAF about efficiency, accuracy and "doing it right," you will spend a decent amount of time fixing what they break.
I do, and I have 2 full time mid levels. A few times a day I’ll switch levels, or switch procedures. I’ve had my mid levels shadow me for a month when they start, and I regularly have them bring questions to me. We haven’t been able to hire another doctor (income potential is great but it’s rural), so it’s that or make patients wait 3 months to see me, then another 3 for their procedure. Or see 60 patients a day.

Reactions: 1 user
My mid-level, who I consider above average, has booked me for intraarticular knee injections on post-TKA patients on multiple occasions.

Always fun when the patient took a day off work just to have their procedure cancelled at the last minute for lack of feasibility, safety concerns, forgetting to address anticoagulation, weren't told they needed a driver, etc.