Older student with kids

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drjthor2

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just wanted to get some input from people who may have started an ortho residency later in life (I will finish school at 37) with/without kids - or imagine yourself in the situation. From reading other threads, I have a reasonable handle on the work hours during the residency but would like further clarification. I am leaning towards ortho just but I have found it very difficult to do "what you love" when I won't have much experience to base that on before I need to make that decision. On the other hand, I don't want to make a career decision based on solely on lifestyle/schedule - ex, radiology. Any thoughts for a very confused soon to be 4th year is appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

I am an older student myself. I won't be finished with residency until 37 or 38. Initially, I was looking at one of the surgical fields because I really like anatomy, working with my hands, and be able to fix something immediately. The problem with surgery is, how long can you really do it? I think most surgeons retire around 55-60. That gives me around 20 years, which isn't long enough for a career in my opinion. So, now I'm looking at a non-surgical field like radiology where I can practice until I'm 70 if I want. I plan to subspecialize into interventional rads or neurorads which are semi-surgical. Hope that helps.

I plan on going into Ortho, and will be finished at the age of 42! That's plenty of time to have a great career, and start doing different things towards the end of your career, that won't be quite as physically demanding. I couldn't imagine doing anything else...

Members don't see this ad :)