Old man at square one. How?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rdelange

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
Wow! What a great website. Thanks very much. I have what I feel is an unusual situation. My undergraduate diploma is from Western Washington University. I averaged only a bit above a 3.0 overall(not sure of my science average, maybe higher). I graduated with a psych major and Spanish minor in 1995.
I am now 27. Since university I have lived my life and made my money in several interesting but nontraditional and nonacademic ways; mostly as an Alaska fisherman and as a singer. I have travelled all over the world learning languages and gaining experience I never got in school. Now I teach GRE at Princeton Review in Taiwan. These experiences have been rewarding and enriching but perhaps not very convincing to an admissions board.
For the last six months I have researched the path to medical school. Most resources seem to be geared for students that want to get into the top medical schools. I have learned that if I don't have a 3.6 GPA and recommendation from a congressman I won't get into Stanford. This is interesting but of no use to me. The bottom line is I want to be a doctor. I don't care where I study or what I have to do to get there.
It is two years of hard work from now to possible acceptance or rejection, considering make up classes and the application process. Is it futile for me? If I take the prerequisites and my performance is stellar, if I get some kind of experience in the medical field, is there some hope for me to get into some school in this country (not Harvard)? If so, how much hope. What are some good states to get residency in for me? Your answer is appreciated more than I could possibly say.

Sincerely
Ryan

Members don't see this ad.

Doesn't sound "futile".

If you get a whopper of an MCAT, that will make up for a lot.