OFFER: Volunteer Abroad in West Africa

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Lets Get Free

Big Member
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Fellow SDNers,

I wanted to share a link to the website of a non-profit group based out of Paris, France, and Lome, Togo, who organized an internship for me at the University Hospital of Lome for 6 months of last year, where I worked as a phlebotomist and shadowed doctors in the department of neurology full time, and an experience that dramatically expanded my understanding of health, the health profession, and why I personally want to be a doctor:

www.as-oisou.com

I'm currently working as a united states coordinator for other people who would like to volunteer or do a small project. We're making an english version of the site currently, so hopefully you can translate this page in your browser (or know some french). Google chrome translates it pretty good for me.

In addition to working in the hospital, shadowing, working in the hospital labs running tests, and spending a month observing surgeries, I was also able to participate on excursions by other volunteers from France who designed, financed, and carried-out their own community-service projects with the help of this organization (AS-OISOU). The organization is mostly concerned with projects benefitting education and infrastructure. One project I worked on was refurbishing of a village primary school that lasted about 2 weeks and included playing games with children. Another was the planting of about 500 fruit trees at a school in another village, took a little more than a week.

It was really a great experience for me to see a rich culture with many differences of my own, try new foods, and learn to speak French and the local language Ewe at least conversationally. Feel free to message me or email if you have any questions!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: