% of D.O.'s in allopathic programs... significant?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EUA

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
there's some rumor going around that the ACGME limits the precentage of DO residents in an allopathic program for certification purposes. While it sounds suspect to me, it wouldn't be entirely surprised given that there still is a fair amount of DO prejudice.

Truth or lies? Whaddya think?

Members don't see this ad.

I would find this hard to believe, since I interviewed at some allopathic programs that are almost 50% DOs, and these are programs with excellent reputations. There are also dually accredited programs (both AOA and ACGME) which may have more than 50% DOs.

In fact, I'm a DO student who has been fairly heavily recruited by allopathic programs, and I know many of my classmates have been as well.

Maybe it's because I'm in Family, but I have never experienced DO prejudice (or at least none I've been aware of), and all but one of my rotations in the past 2 years, and all of my interviews, have been at allopathic programs.

Maybe it's because I'm in Family, but I have never experienced DO prejudice (or at least none I've been aware of), and all but one of my rotations in the past 2 years, and all of my interviews, have been at allopathic programs.

I think you have hit the nail on the head here. In some specialties, there are "DO friendly" and "not DO friendly" programs.

While it sounds suspect to me, it wouldn't be entirely surprised given that there still is a fair amount of DO prejudice.

Yes, the ACGME secretly limits the amount of DOs in residency programs. It's a clever plot designed to destroy the osteopathic profession. The AMA failed for 130 years, but no more!

:rolleyes: