Ocular Oncology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ophtho12345

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi. I'm an incoming ophthalmology resident and I have recently been getting interested in possibly pursuing a fellowship in Ocular oncology. During one of my ophthalmology aways I had seen a very interesting case of a rhabdomyoscarcoma of the orbit. I have been trying to find more information about that field but there seems to be very little information out there. I see that there are not many fellowships offered but I was hoping either a resident applying for fellowship, a current fellow, or even an attending could offer some advice or information about that field. How competitive is it? What kind of job opportunities are there after fellowship? I know there are no ocular oncologist in my state and in a few surrounding states.

Members don't see this ad.

There are only a maybe few dozen ocular oncologists in the country at most. Ocular tumors are rare and thus the job market is somewhat limited. However, given the lack of availability, having a retina or other fellowship in addition to ocular oncolgy training would really make you an attractive candidate for a job down the road. Not sure there are that many exclusive ocular oncologist out there. I think most do some retina or the like in addition to ocular oncology. Academic centers are more likely to allow you an oncology only practice. Also, you may be able to join a large group and be the oncology person for the group in private practice as well.

Patients take a lot of chair time thus limiting volume and reimbursement is low. Only a few private practice docs out there have made it work in solo practice (ie. Tim Murray in Miami).

In terms of fellowship, there are only a few in the country (Wills, Tennessee, San Francisco,Bascom etc). They are not very competitive as there is not a lot of demand for them, though, in a given year this may vary.