NYU vs Rutgers, Which to Pick

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LGM

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an Army veteran trying to transit into dental school. Currently, I got an acceptance from both Rutgers and NYU. To break down my situation and integrate into each institution:

Rutgers
- Tuition+fee will be covered for 36 months (Post 9/11 GI Bill)
- Additional $2.5k/mo for housing allowances for the 36 months (thinking about buying a house that area too, if I'm going to RSDM)
- Will end up paying ~$70k out of pocket (remember the D-school's truly only 45ish months).
- or the Army HPSP which I'm done with submitting my packet; got a personalized LoR from the Medical BDE CDR, which means a lot for the Army
- Small class size
- Not as good neighborhood as NYU's but cheaper cost of living

NYU
- Cannot afford without the HPSP; GI Bill will cover only ~$70k*4yrs for the sum of tuition and housing allowance; which will result in appx $200k in debt by the end of 4th yr (this includes a studio rent in the region)
- Huge class size; I see both pros and cons from this; when you think about the economy of size, I've seen much more flexibility of cooperation with other departments and medical facilities, and the "Army of scientists" with NYU, maybe biased perspective tho (never seen the Rutgers' side)
- Better neighborhood; I'm a Queens boy, absolutely loved the neighborhood of the Midtown or possibly living in LIC; but the cost of living is speechless...

HPSP
- Very strong candidate: Army veteran, very personalized LoR from MED BDE CDR, great NCOER record (pretty much an HR record for the civilian side), good PT score (believe or not, Army cares a lot about this; still not too sure how does it affect on the civilian recruits tho)...
- Will pay the full tuition+fees+supplies+books for ANY institution