NYU MPH -- A Review. Part 1.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MPHer10

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Background.

Before applying to MPH programs, I spent a good amount of time researching information about different schools and tracks and found a lot of hearsay regarding the NYU MPH program. I'm now a student there and I'm going to post up a review at the end of every semester so others can get a better idea of the program itself.

I applied with a >3.3gpa, >1400 GRE, relevant international volunteer experience (~2 months in Africa, ~4 weeks in Mexico, and a record of social activism in my local city), and very excellent letters of recommendation.

I applied for mostly international/global health programs and I ended up getting accepted to Tulane (GH), Emory (Global Epi), UCLA (HPM), Cal, SUNY Albany (full scholarship), Yale, and others.

I got rejected both my top choices -- Columbia and Harvard.

Currently, I'm enrolled in the Community Public Health (International Health track) program. Notably, this program is NOT the same as the Global Health program (which is aimed at working professionals). In the end, money talks and NYU offered the best financial aid package at the time as well as what I believe would be the best chance at research and work opportunities. (The Emory and Albany offered scholarships after I had started the program at NYU.)

Demographics.

Male:female -- 1:8 or so in most core classes and closer to 1:3 in general courses (courses that are for multiple disciplines -- biostats, for example)

Average age -- I would guess around 27. The range varies from straight out of undergrad to people who have received their MDs to career changers who have worked in a different industry for 10 years. Overall, it is a relatively young class.