Nycpm

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

smellyfeet

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
To all prospective students,

Do not go to NYCPM.

This statement should not make you think that the education is subpar or that the students graduating from NYCPM are less qualified than those graduating from other institutions. The education at NYCPM has the potential to be great if the right people were running things. Unfortunately, we do not have the right people in the higher administrative positions.

I am a student at NYCPM and I know I am getting a great education but it is not due to the academic climate or the cirriculum of the school. It is because I make sure that at every turn I am getting the most out of it and sometimes that means that I must visit other DPMs and seek out the education that I know I need.

As for the clinic, again it has the potential to be great but only if the student pushes for it. If the student choses to see the patient as a bunch of nails, fungus, and calluses then that is all the student will do, cut nails, corns and calluses. If the student sees a callus as a biomechanical problem with the foot and then decides to prescribe orthoses then the student gets more out of the experience. The DPMs in the clinic let us decide how to treat the patients. If the treatment the student comes up with is acceptable but not the best the DPM usually does not push for more. There are a few DPMs that will suggest a different treatment option but most will not.

The general climate is that mediocore is great and why get As, we'll all get residencies, right? This does not inspire people to be great and try hard. If you are not inately self modivated this institution will not encourage you to be.