NYC Accredited Clinical Psychology PhD Programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ClinPsych2007

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I know its really early in the process (for a Fall '09 start date), but I've been piecing together a list of the good accredited clinical psychology PhD programs in New York City and wanted to share it and get others' input. A little about me...I graduated with a BA from Vassar College in 2006 and have worked two years doing research and clinical work at NYU/Bellevue psychiatry.Please keep in mind that I am interested in neuropsychology, prefer a CBT program, and want a good mix of research and clinical work, and thus my interests have shaped my research on schools.

Columbia (http://www.tc.columbia.edu/academic/ccp/Clinical/proginfo.asp): mostly psychoanalytic, very research oriented, students spend a lot of time in lab, and students graduate in generally 6-7 years. Almost lost its accreditation a couple of years ago, but again its columbia, so this is probably unlikely to ever happen. sorry to those in it, but I have only heard bad things about the 1 yr masters program - it gives you columbia on your cv, but only like 1 out of the 40 in the masters gets accepted into the PhD, and you can't get licensed with this degree... so people pretty much use it exclusively as a means to improve their cv for applying to another phd program.