Nurse practioner working for DPM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PADPM

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was having a discussion with someone regarding nurse practitioners working for a DPM. So I researched the idea and actually found a DPM in Kentucky who not only employs a NP, but she actually sees/treats patients on her own. There are days she is in the office treating podiatric problems with no doc in the building. So I guess that answers that question, at least in Kentucky.

Members don't see this ad.

I am a third-year resident who will be graduating in a few short months. The orthopaedic group I'm joining is adding a NP for me, as this is allowed under my state's laws. A PA however, would not be allowed to work under me in my state. Interestingly, a person with the dual NP/PA degree would still be allowed to work under me.

Members don't see this ad :)
I am a third-year resident who will be graduating in a few short months. The orthopaedic group I'm joining is adding a NP for me, as this is allowed under my state's laws. A PA however, would not be allowed to work under me in my state. Interestingly, a person with the dual NP/PA degree would still be allowed to work under me.

Congrats on joining an ortho group. How'd u manage to land that? I understand its rather difficult. Care to give some advice or tips?

I don't understand why everyone salivates over the ortho groups. You will essentially be a full ortho surgeon, never become a partner, and not act as a true podiatrist in any way. If ortho groups are your goal, go to med school.

Sorry, I certainly don't want this thread to get off topic so quickly, but yes, I do become a full partner after my first year. I have the exact same contract as every other MD partner in the group signed initially. But back to the original topic, I was just offering my two cents in regard to working with a NP.