Not Particularly Good at Biology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted887473

Hi there! I'm almost done with my pre-reques, and I wanted some feedback on how to improve my brute force memorization skills.

I've discovered that I'm more of a logic reasoner than a memorizer -- I love chemistry and did very well in orgo and gen chem, even calc and physics. However, I'm not good at just plain memorization...
I did fine in the intro Bio sequence, but this semester I took an upper level bio class where we have to know a bunch of molecular pathways and names and stuff that I couldn't really reason through. There was a ton of material taught in a short amount of time as well. Ended up with my first B in college, and while I'm not concerned about this particular grade, I'm a bit nervous about my future upper level bio classes.

What kinds of things would you recommend for bio? Have not been a big fan of flash cards and things like that, but now I feel I should get used to them.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
this semester I took an upper level bio class where we have to know a bunch of molecular pathways and names and stuff that I couldn't really reason through. There was a ton of material taught in a short amount of time as well. Ended up with my first B in college, and while I'm not concerned about this particular grade, I'm a bit nervous about my future upper level bio classes.

What kinds of things would you recommend for bio?
Draw out the molecular pathways. Over, and over again. Until you can do it without referring to the original materials.

Reactions: 1 users
You are in luck. Upper level biology classes, at least at my UG, tended to focus on higher level thought processes. However, a lot of the critical thinking that you will have to do, in classes and in medicine, are reliant on a strong base of knowledge.