Not cut out for dental school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BioForLife

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone. So I'm currently in my second semester at dental school and in a dilemma. I'm doing pretty well in my classes, and finding that I can keep up with them fine. However, lab is basically kicking my butt. I spend tons of time in the lab (some faculty even tell me that they have never seen anyone spend so much time in there in my year) and despite my best efforts, I'm always behind in lab and just failed my first practical. I just don't know what to do. From the start, I've always just been scraping by in lab and it seems like no matter how much I practice, I'm among the weakest in my group. Should I look into something else I know I'm good at or keep going? Does it really get better or am I stuck on a path of mediocrity in dental school/dentistry? I don't think it's worth it to keep going if I'm going to end up being a so-so dentist if there are so many more qualified people out there.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
About 40% of my class failed their first practical. Keep practicing and hopefully you'll do better.

Last edited:
Keep going. You may not know it, but your dexterity has improved from the first time you were in lab. It's not always about how much better you can get, but also how much you have improved. Don't let fear get in your way, dental school is full of subjective people, specially the faculty. I had my fair share of bad grades in lab, but I still graduated on time and did just fine since.

Keep going.

Reactions: 7 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Waxing C
Direct I composite : C

Nothing higher than 76 in either classes. Even failed the last waxing practical. Always the slowest in my entire row, when it came to practicals and sign offs. Kept beating my self up, feeling sorry for myself and kept thinking this wasn't for me.