NonUS IMG with a failed semester

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Capixaba

Reaction score
Hello, i'm a medical student in Brazil now going to my final year. I've decided to study for the USMLE, but what is holding me back is that i failed a preclinical course and had to retake it for a semester. My first half of medical school was particularly tough for me, because i had to spend 3 hours a day in a bus to get to the University and go back home.

After that failure, i managed to move to a place nearby, changed my way to study and i'm having a good performance since then. Will that totally ruin my chances of matching a residency program in the US? I want IM or Psych.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Good on you for identifying the issue and fixing it. Definitely mention that in your personal statement, because the course failure is going to jump out right away to program directors. Psych is probably off the table. It's become increasingly more competitive over the last decade, even for US students. IM might be within reach, though with a course failure and non-US IMG status, you'll need to apply to every lower-tier program in the country to maximize your odds. You'll need to pass all USMLE steps on your first try, and ideally do well. You'll also need good clinical grades and strong letters from clinical faculty, ideally IM faculty. You should also strongly consider dual-applying IM and FM.

Reactions: 1 user
I agree with above. If you can check all the other boxes (passing USMLE, getting US-based clinical experience) then I don't think this will necessarily hold you back. IM (and FM) are more likely than psych.