Non-US IMG's dilemma - get a PhD or apply for residency asap?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Zli

Clueless
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, everyone!

Serbian MG here, interested in hem/onco. I graduated last June in top 1% of class (2nd out of 450, to be more specific... not that it matters that much, the school being in Serbia and all). In the past four years I did a few international rotations; unfortunately, none of them were in the US (one clinical - radiology in Finland, and three research ones - physiology in Portugal, immuno-genetics in Thailand and immunohistology in Germany, a month each). All I have to show for it is quite a bit of lab experience and a paper published in the no.1 journal for microscopy (and 84th in cell biology :D), as the 3rd author, plus some presentations at international students' conferences (got the Best overall in Ankara, Turkey... yeah). I'll also be getting an MS in citology, immunohistochemistry & embriology, hopefully by the end of summer. The only clinical experience I had since graduating is the Serbian "internship" - 6 months of clinical rotations needed prior to getting a license.

I've been studying for the usmle for two whole months now, and the plan was as follows - step 1 in April, step 2 CK in May, go to the US for step 2 CS in June (maybe try again in July), do some observing from July 'till September and try to get as many LoRs as possible (with which I can wipe my *ss, I know, but it's the best I can do), apply to decent internal medicine programs ('decent' meaning ones that could get me into a hem/onco fellowship later on) and a couple of backups in pathology, interview, pray (to the FSM).