Non-traditional's that have made it...I need help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

champSJL

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm a career changer who decided to follow up on his dreams of becoming a doc. I graduated from the University of Texas - Austin in 2003 and started taking my pre-med courses in December of 2004. But there are a few "obstacles" if you will:

- I'm taking my pre-med courses @ a junior college. (something I've heard is not that impressive)

- my UT GPA is a 2.8. But, so far so good I've made just one B, in chemistry II. So my post-bacc / science GPA is a 3.8 and when I'm completely finished with these science courses, I'm going to have over a 3.0 overall GPA with a high science GPA.
----------------------

I know that taking classes at a juco is not very impressive to med school admissions departments so I thought of ideas to bolster my chances of getting in. What I've done / planning to do to counter my deficiencies are:

1). gain either research experience or work @ a hospital
2). definitely volunteer somewhere, whether it's medically related or just in the community
3). shadow a surgeon (I've got a few family friends that can help me with that)
4). take the April 2006 MCAT and be the very first to apply to all the med schools I can

Now, is this plan destined to help me out? Or am I headed towards disappointment and failure. Am I missing something? Can I do something to further bolster my chances of getting in?

Bear in mind that I am not at all opposed to going to the Caribbean if I have to...It's not my first choice - I'd love to stay closer to home, but if I have to I don't mind doing so.

Anyone's responses / thoughts are GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Since you're looking for opinions....

Taking pre-reqs at a JUCO doesn't help but I have no idea how much it hurts.