Non-Traditional Student MESSY TRANSCRIPTS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LeeB

Reaction score
I am a non-traditional Biological Sciences student at a California State University hoping to attend MD school or DO school. My academic journey has been very sporadic, with no real consistency until recently. I have failed courses and withdrawn from courses and left universities. Here are some of the key aspects of my current life and academic experiences.

I left university at the end of my second year in 2015 in poor academic standing.
I returned to a local community college in the spring of 2022 and received a 4.0 in General Chemistry 2, Introductory Psychology, Introductory Sociology and Nutrition.
I returned to my State University this previous fall, enrolled in Organic Chemistry, 400 and 300 level Bio and received 2 A's and B+ in O-Chem/on the Dean's Listt
My GPA is all over the places from the times before 2015. Failed courses, W's etc. and several trade related classes (Fire Academy, EMT, Non-University Transfer Courses).
My current cGPA is 2.81. I have roughly 80 units of undergraduate work remaining in my BS. This is without factoring retakes.
I have multiple years of experience working as a full-time career firefighter as well as in a physical therapy clinic
I have acquired a research/volunteer position with a local needle exchange program through my university.
I am in the process of finding a physician to shadow.
I have yet to take the MCAT and have calculated that with retakes factored in, I will realistically have a cGPA of 3.2-3.3 upon graduation.
Remaining pre-requisites are the entire physics series, 2/3 of the o-chem series, one general bio course and Bio calculus 2. I have previously failed Bio calculus 2 and physics 1 (7 years ago).

Questions:
Will a strong GPA in my final 110 units of undergraduate work be weighted as heavily as the 3.2 cGPA?