Non-traditional Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JbarkerEMT

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I feel like I'm up a creek w/o a paddle. I'm not your typical pre-med student. I messed around in high school and ended up graduating with about a 1.9 GPA. I wasn't accepted into any colleges that I wanted to go to (what a suprise!). I've spent some time since I graduated high school going to a local community college and taking classes that have nothing to do with medicine, except for my EMT courses. I've taken 2 english classes, A and C for grades. 2 psychology classes, C's in both. Public Speaking, Computer Basics. I've also taken a general chemistry class for one semester and I flunked. I'm horrible at math and I've had no college math experience that resulted in a grade. To put it simply, my transcripts are a mess and I have no idea where I stand as far as being considered a freshman, sophmore, etc. +pity+

On the positive side, if there is one, I do have ambition and I've matured a lot from my earlier days, can't say younger days since I'm only 24. I'm taking classes at a community college to rebuild the foundation in biology, chemistry, and math. Starting with an introductory biology course, a chemistry course that preps you for general chemistry, and pre-algebra (don't laugh, I said I wasn't good at math.) I'm planning on taking most of my non-science courses that are requires for a BS/BA degree at the community college and then transfering to the University of Nevada-Las Vegas to take the required sciences that I need for medical school and finish off my degree. The problem is that since I don't know where I stand academically, I don' know when I should start studying for the MCAT or start applying to Med schools.

Is anyone else in this same situation or were in this situation? Am I on the right track or should I modify my plans? Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks...