Dental Non-Traditional Pre-Dental - Will my first undergrad GPA weigh heavily?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBoneDoctah

Volunteer Staff
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

Looking for some advice here. I am a prospective non traditional student. I am currently an Active Duty Marine with a little over 10 years of service. I have decided to transition out of the military and pursue my dreams of becoming a Dentist :)
I will be transitioning out of the military in a year with the intent of applying to Dental School in 2023. I earned a BA in Psychology from Ashford in 2014 with a GPA of 2.7. Not my proudest performance however between working full time and life it was a difficult achievement that has led me to where and who I am today.

I have done lengthy research on schools and their requirements and have come to the conclusion that my best option to boost my GPA and become more competitive is to earn a second Bachelor's Degree. If I perform well, I will be able to boost my cGPA to a 3.4 and since I have minimal pre-requisites completed, my cGPA will more than likely be higher than my oGPA. I have not taken the DAT however plan on taking the DAT as soon as I have a few more of the pre-reqs under my belt.

I am currently enrolled in classes at my local community college and have earned A's. I've read that a lot of Dental Schools prefer pre-requisites from 4 year institutions so I am planning on applying to my local 4 year institution. Once I transition out of the service, I'd like to focus heavily on shadowing.

A few questions;

1.) Will my GPA in my first undergrad weigh heavily?
2.) Would it be beneficial to apply for a Master's Program after a second undergrad?

Any and all recommendations are welcome!

I appreciate your time :)

-J
First off, thank you for your service!