non-traditional looking for advice re Caribbean schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lincolnite13

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a 3rd year graduate student looking to go back to medical school.

I studied Physics for my first degree and am currently reading a PhD in Physics in the UK. I'm American by citizenship.

To give some background, I also read the premed curriculum as an undergrad alongside Physics. But, ultimately the pull of Physics was greater, and I decided for graduate school.

Here is my problem. I took my MCATs in 2013. That score has already / will expire for the vast majority of schools...as I intend to apply this year and matriculate in 2017. I'm drawn to the Caribbean because it's cheap, its location and that it accepts older MCAT scores. Frankly, I won't have the time to prepare for the new MCAT this year while both racing to finish my PhD work and writing my thesis.

Many here advocate against the Caribbean ... citing poor match rates primarily. I personally don't think the quality of education will be worse ... after all, most materials are all online these days anyway. Much like undergrad, my experience looking back is that it doesn't matter where you go, it's what you do while you are there that matters. So, what is the real disadvantage to Caribbean schools?

Cheers in advance for any thoughts and comments :)

I went to NYU, Honors Program, full scholarship.
Currently at the University of Oxford, full scholarship.
GPA: 3.81
MCAT 30 (2013)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Are you a Rhodes Scholar?? You know med school isn't going anywhere right? Take your time and do what it takes to go to a US school. In this case it's both where you go and what you do there, and it'd be silly to close doors for yourself just because you're in a rush.

Reactions: 7 users