non-traditional applicant

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lightbulb92

Reaction score
Hello to all SDN members interested in school of optometry. This is my first post and I am going to be non-traditional applicant with couple of questions on which directions I should take going forward.

To briefly introduce my self, I graduated with a biology major and attended international medical school. I withdrew from the program in the middle of my second year and have returned to states. I am currently working towards applying to optometry school. I understand that it is important to expand on the reasons to why I withdrew from the program and want to become an optometrist on my PS. I learned many things in harder and expensive way and I am here. I have some shadowing hours from a optometrist and plan to continually shadowing. I hope to shadow another optometrist soon. I have been volunteering at a non-profit community shelter for a long time ever since I graduated college, during the breaks while in medical school and since I left the program. I have few EC on my resume but most of them are outdated since many of my ECs were done during college.

Here are some of my questions:

1) I have 3.0 cGPA and 3.1 Science GPA. I have not taken biochem, statistics, human anatomy/physiology. Although I have taken these courses at med school, I know it is not possible to have these credits accepted for pre-requisites since I have not finished the program. I am trying to decide if I should take these three courses at a university near my residence while preparing for the OAT or if I should consider postbac program that will suffice these course requirements and help with my GPA.

2) I have done research on postbac programs on aamc website. However, are there postbac programs that pre-opt students prefer? if so may I ask for your suggestion?