Non-Trad Stats / Need Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

IssaDream

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone on studentdoc! This is my first time posting (after months of ghost spectating the forums) here, and I was hoping to gain some insight/advice from any non-trad MD applicants about my path to an MD school. It has been my dream since childhood to become a doctor (as I'm sure you guys all share in this dream), but I have fallen off the path somewhere along the way. As of recent, however, I've gathered the courage to stick with this dream all the way until I fail and have all doors closed. Here, I will briefly share with you my stats and the 2-year plan I have in mind until I apply to medical school in 2020. I'd appreciate any feedback/insight/advice from those who have been involved in this forum and in the med school process (accepted or applicant), as I write this post. Just a warning: this may get long ;)

I am:
- Asian American (24)
- Graduating B.A in the spring from top #1 public university

Education:
- (Straight out of high school) Mid-tier public university [2012-2014]
- Pre-med at the time, majoring in general biology
- GPA: 2.93
- During this time, family went through a financial crisis, so I worked two jobs while attending school full time.
- Volunteer / Shadowing experience amidst this crisis.
- Completed half of medical school pre-reqs, but mediocre grades

- BIO 1/1L (B-/A) | BIO 2/2L (A-/B-) | BIO 3/3L (A/C-)
- CHM 1/1L (B-/A) | CHM 2/2L (B/F: Retook, got A) | CHM 3/3L (C/B)
- PHY 1/1L (B-/B)
- STAT (B)
- C/D/F's on upper division science courses, due to the circumstances at the time