Non-trad route: Elem teacher looking to go to med school. Advice please!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aminator01

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I would love some advice if anyone can give it. I am 26 years old and am finally thinking about med school. I know I'm a little late in the game, but I want to start moving quickly! Here's a little background:

I am an elementary school teacher.
Graduated from a liberal arts college in 2008 with a 3.89 GPA.
Majored in mathematics, minored in psychology and education, earned a teaching certificate in New York and Connecticut.
I have not taken many prerequisites at all: my last chem courses were about 8 years ago (in high school-- though they were through UConn and I did well in them, but I don't remember much of it). I took a year of physics in 2004/05 and got As in both courses.
I am a volunteer EMT, though it's something I just started doing in March 2012.
In college I did Big Brothers Big Sisters for 3 years, and was the president of the program at my school for one year.
I also volunteered at a local school for underprivileged youth during college and helped build for Habitat for Humanity. I have always been interested in volunteer work.

I know I'm going to need to take chemistry and biology courses... is it okay to take them at a local community college? And do I need to repeat the physics courses too since they are so old? I'd like to apply next year, for matriculation in 2014.

I know I need to do really well on the MCAT. What score would I need to aim for with my background?

What else should I be working on over the next year? Obviously I am going to continue volunteering as an EMT. I am looking at where I can take chemistry and biology courses. I believe my math background should be sufficient.