MD Non-Canadian International Junior

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

subtroglodyte

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Started my third year and plan on applying to USMD schools the next cycle. I’m really concerned about my ECs primarily because I have zero clinical experience and shadowing. I was stuck in my home country freshman year( because I’m non-Canadian international) and my university was online for fall semester sophomore year- and that made getting clinical experience and other ECs hard .

I’m sharing my current profile to get some advice on what I could do to maximise my odds of getting into an international friendly US MD school next cycle.

Also - what schools do you think I could get in with my current profile.

South Asian male ( ORM)

cGPA : 3.985 , ECs :

Research ~ 700 hours ( 600 this summer at a hospital’s research program - overall research focuses on global health / public health);

Productivity : 1 8th author publication in a mid/low impact journal, two first author posters at a university conferences, one first author poster at a hospital research program.

Non-Clinical Volunteering : Teaching underprivileged students in my home country ~ 300 hours + Volunteer at needle exchange in 144 hours

Clubs : Co-Editor-in-Chief & Founding member of university public health journal( second and third year ), exec for UNICEF club( started third year), exec for debating society ( started third year )

Internships : 80 hours of qualitative research over two months at a union of sex worker in my home counters ; 3 months of an internship at a healthcare non- profit think tank in my country.

I’d love to get some feedback on my current profile - and understand what other activities I should optimise for. ( besides volunteering / shadowing )

It would also be useful to learn what med schools I might have a good shot at.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user