No acceptances for the holidays...do you all feel me on this?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

evescadeceus

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Anybody out there going to be driving long distances the family soon, with no idea what to say to them when they ask THE QUESTION. The only thing I can think of to say is, "Well, it takes a very long time to hear back from these places. Hopefully I'll know by June." (My folks have no idea how many waitlists i'm on, and I don't even want to get into it with them.)

I'm not good at finesse when I'm depressed. SDNers, help me sweet talk...

Members don't see this ad.

It's easy to answer. Tell them:

"As soon as I sleep with the Dean of Admissions, I'm in!"

:rolleyes:

Nice, ragweed. Any others?

Members don't see this ad :)
Just tell them it's a long process and the majority of schools dont' offer most of their decisions until March or April. It's true for many schools at least...

Why not just be honest with them? Are they high-pressure parents? All of my med school mail goes to my parents' house and when my cell phone rings with "Home" I get excited because it means my mom might have opened my mail with more news! I think they like being involved and having a role in the process, too.

my first acceptance was 1/8. it would have been nice to have an acceptance for the holidays (esp. since I was visiting relatives in korea who hadn't seen me in 17 years), but whatever, it worked out... sorta.

My advice: sweet talk yourself first, as it sounds you're more ashamed of your situation than they will be. If you aren't stressing about waitlists, how can they stress you out over it?

At least you are on waitlists at this moment. There are MANY MANY people who don't even have interviews at this point.