This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KenFred

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am new to the forum as well as the dental industry. I have a few questions I need clarification on.

First, what is the difference between the D.M.D. and D.D.S. degrees? Is it comparable with a BA or BS in undergrad? If so, if you want to specialize in a particular practice would you have to consider which degree you need to get?

Secondly, I graduated in 2000 with a 3.3 GPA in finance. I obviously did not take too many science classes because of my major, which I am now regreting. That being said, if I were to take some science courses at a CC would I be considered as a candidate? Would my major in UG hurt me in getting into dental school?

Finally, I will be in my 30's when I graduate from dnetal school if I choose to go. Is this extremely uncommon? Also, would I have a difficult time finding employment after grauduation becasue of my age?

Any insight would be appreciated. I know I want to change careers; however, I just want to make sure I make an eduated decision.

Thanks,
KenFred

Members don't see this ad.

Welcom to the forum, you have chosen to prusue a great career. If you are serious about becoming a dentist you must go back to college to take your science classes. Most if not all dental schools will not allow you to take your science prereqs at a CC.

I don't think your undergraduate major will hurt you at all. By going back to school the adcoms will see your desire to pursue this career. And being 30 by the time you graduate is not uncommon at all. Search this forum and you will find many people who are just starting dental school at the age of 30 and are not regretting it and enjoying every minute of it. Good luck to you!

Ken,

In regards to the two degrees that are offered, there is NO difference. Some schools offer the DDS, while others offer the DMD.