New to Roth IRA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Capote1

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am a resident and just opened a Roth IRA with Vanguard. I was only able to contribute $200 to start it and honestly, I don't know where to go from here. My basic understanding is that I should be investing 70-80% stocks and the rest in funds. Is there anything I can do with that $200 at this time or do I need to wait until I have $1000+ to start investing? Thanks for your help.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello all,

I am a resident and just opened a Roth IRA with Vanguard. I was only able to contribute $200 to start it and honestly, I don't know where to go from here. My basic understanding is that I should be investing 70-80% stocks and the rest in funds. Is there anything I can do with that $200 at this time or do I need to wait until I have $1000+ to start investing? Thanks for your help.

I don't know the specifics of Vanguard, so someone might be able to chime in. If you're brand new, though, I'd recommend picking a Target Date Retirement Fund and leaving it be until you have a handle on the different types of stocks and funds. Otherwise, I'd recommend leaving all your retirement investments in index funds--you can use your taxable account (when you have enough money to have one) for your individual stocks if that's an interest of yours.

Reactions: 2 users
Last time I checked, there are lots of stocks that have low minimal investments. Personally I'd pick a growth stock fund, or growth and income and keep it all equities.

Looks like the minimum for funds is $1,000 but their ETS don't have minimums. I'd look into those.

Members don't see this ad :)
$200 is too little to start doing anything. Even 1 share of total stock market ETF is $148.58 currently, so I guess you could buy a share of that.