New tech dealing with a condescending staff pharmacist?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

emptysequencee

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm in need of some advice. I'm a recent grad since Spring 2019. I graduated with my chem degree and did a second major.

I'm currently working as a pharm tech at a major retail chain before starting pharmacy school next year to gain as much knowledge, experience, and exposure as possible.

Well I've only been working as a tech for 2 months and I'm dealing with a staff pharmacist who comes off as condescending.

Whenever I ask a question, she sometimes comes off as annoyed or makes disparaging remarks. I've never went to tech school so all of this is completely new to me. Whenever I make an error, I apologize and ask how I can prevent that from happening again.

Well recently, I've gotten into typing up prescriptions and I only know the basic sig codes like qd, po, among others (which I had to teach myself since I've never gone to tech school)....

Before learning the sig codes, the pharmacist walked up to me one time and told me "you don't have to type out the whole thing, you can just use the sig codes and type +qd instead of actually writing out everyday. Like, it's not that hard it's so easy." I just bit my tongue and went with it.

Now, this is the tip of the iceberg. While I was typing up prescriptions, I had to convert tsp to mL. All I asked her is, "hey can you remind me how many mL are in a tsp so I can do the dimensional analysis?"

How she responded: "what, how do you not know that? That's the first thing they teach you in tech school. Did you even go to tech school?"

I told her, no I never went to tech school....

Then she asked the other tech if they ever taught her conversions and sig codes and she told the pharmacist that she went through a pharmacy technician program at her high school and that's how she knows them.