New sGPA Factoring?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ForensicOdontology

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all, I'm sorry if this has been addressed -- although I can't see how it could have been since it's a fairly specific situation.

I'm just a tad confused and looking for thoughts/guidance. First off, the Forensic Sciences are considered in the sGPA now?? Is this new or did I miss something last year?? I feel like the verification process is going to be particularly stressful for me when I submit my transcripts. I have a Bachelors Degree in Biological Anthropology, a Masters Degree in Forensic Science, and a Post BACC with BIO 1 & 2 retakes that don't match up to the undergrad titles on my transcripts, lol. (Although I've read that the grade replacement issues has been solved.) In total, I have a horrible undergrad GPA at 2.88 in BIO Anth, a 3.8 Masters in FS, and a 3.7 Post Bacc.

My questions are as follows:

My masters Forensic Science courses, the one undergrad Astronomy class I have, and any of my Anthropology courses with a bio/brain/primate/or Anatomy focus, these will all be included in my sGPA as of now? Or do all of my Anthropology classes count regardless, because I was a Biological Anthropology major? And what do you think of my odds at DO school? I worked full time while taking my Post Bacc at 12 credits per semester, and I'm a female from mainland PR, and have good EC's (Also, let's keep the URM knocks to a minimum if possible please and thanks :D I just want a realistic analysis for my situation.)

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Per my understanding (correct me if I am wrong), the masters courses will count as science GPA, but will do nothing for your uSGPA, or undergraduate science GPA. The post-bacc will factor into the science GPA that schools use for cut offs when screening, but not the masters.